3 Design Pieces From The Swiss Typography Period

           

POSTER ONE: This is a front cover design for Pelican Books and it was designed by Jan Tschichold. I really inspire how this design was kept consistent throughout the Swiss period which showed respect to Tschichold.  I like how colour is used simply but creatively by having two bold streaks of blue at the top and bottom of the book which makes the middle section stand out to the target audience. Likewise, the title of the book is in a bold sans serif typeface which is at the top of the hierarchy, and in the same way the image of the pelican stands out because the wings have a strong bold typeface. What I do not like about this front cover is how the two words at the bottom of the page are not centered very well.

POSER TWO: This poster is from the Swiss War and was created in the 1950s. As you can see from my explanation about Swiss Typography in my older posts I have mentioned how the artist concentrate on using ‘grids, asymmetric layouts, sans-serif typefaces and ragged right text’. From this poster you can see how the grid works and how technical graphics came into designing the layout and making the type and images fit into the grid lines – this also makes the poster look 3D. Likewise I admire how the designer has used only two colours of black and white to create the hierarchy between type and image – for example how the black typeface stands out on the white shape. I also like how the image of the lady is looking down on the type, which guides the audiences eye from the image to the typeface.

POSTER THREE: I really like how this poster created for Jan Tschichold uses reflections to create the hierarchy, and also looks like the word ‘revolution’ looks as if it has been cut out and placed underneath which attracts the target audience of designers. On the heading ‘Jan Tschichold to new’ the last part of Tschichold has been created in an old fashioned style typeface to represent the old and modern periods in his lifetime. This poster is advertising an exhibition of Tschichold’s life, and I feel that the designer has considered all the factors from the 1950s and Swiss typography. This is very inspirational as it makes me realize how my future creations need to be deeply researched. My favorite part of this poster is how the designer has used the three main colours from the 1950s poster designs – red, white and black. Likewise I admire how the ‘N’  goes off the page with a white line and the date of the exhibition within it.

